Mon. Jan 17th, 2022

Throughout the academic year, student leaders and advisors across West Chester University work to better their organizations and the campus community. They also spend a significant amount of time improving their own leadership abilities by attending workshops and conferences. Once a year student leaders are recognized for their efforts and accomplishments at the Office of Student Leadership and Involvement’s leadership awards ceremony.

This year, the 12th Annual Leadership Awards ceremony was held on Sunday, April 5, 2009 at 2 p.m. in the Sykes Ballrooms with a number of students and faculty members in attendance.

In the weeks prior to the awards ceremony, students and faculty members nominate other students, faculty members and organizations for various awards. Leaders may also choose to self-nominate. After all nominations are received, members of the Leadership Project Team judge different award categories to find winners.

This year’s ceremony began with some remarks by Dr. Matt Bricketto, Vice President of Student Affairs. Discussing how students leaders go through a personal journey during their college careers, Bricketto brought with him a bag of objects that represent ideas that student leaders should keep in mind as they journey through college.

One item included an hourglass, representing time management and the notion that once time slips away, it cannot be brought back. Other objects Bricketto shared were earphones to represent the importance of being a good listener, and a gold ruler to represent the golden rule: treat others as you would want to be treated.

Following Bricketto’s remarks, Charlie Warner, director of Student Leadership and Involvement and others from the LEAD office took the time to recognize students and organizations who participated in Adopt-a-Block, the Leadership Challenge, the SAIL program, and the Executive Leadership Series. Student Organizations and Leaders receiving Spotlight of the Month were also publicly recognized for their achievements.

In addition, three scholarships were awarded to paraprofessional students, and two special honors were awarded aside from the rest of the leadership awards. Hannah Lamontagne received the Beverly Domenick Memorial Student Leader Award in honor of the former WCU faculty member.

The Mary Anderson Media Award was given to the Quad’s very own Amanda Tingle for her contributions to the newspaper over the course of her college career.

The ceremony proceeded with individual student awards given as well as organizational awards.

The Madeleine Wing Adler Emerging Leader Award, named after WCU’s former president, is for a first year or sophomore leader who has shown the most promise of leadership through organizations, academia or service. This year’s recipients were Michelle Stark, Melissa Kenney and Evan Lieb.

Colby Langweiler and Brad Horstmann earned the WCU Leader Award, which is given to leaders who have held various leadership positions and demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities.

The People’s Choice Award, given to individuals who are committed to serving the university and go above and beyond the call of duty to better the campus, was awarded to Laura Ness, Hannah Lamontagne, Alyssa Polakowski and Kelly Hruz.

The Citizen Leader Award, received by Jim Brennan, Jackie Aliotta and Carmin Bermudez, is awarded to students who in their daily lives, understand and embody the virtues of honor, embracing diversity, and teamwork among other qualities.

The last of the individual student awards is the Camp Saginaw Outstanding Senior Leader Award. Awarded to the senior leaders who have shown the most capable leadership ability throughout their years at WCU, this honor was earned by Jackie Aliotta, Rosa Parks, Jai Northcraft and Kyle Smith.

As far as organizations are concerned, there are total of five awards available for a student group, as a whole, to win. This year’s recipient of the Best Student Club Collaboration was Student Activities Council, Black Student Union, Latin American Student Organization and Sykes Union Advisory Board for their Java Jam coffeehouse event in November.

Organization Program of the Year was awarded to Colleges Against Cancer for their Relay for Life event held last April. Circle K Club walked away with the Organization Community Service Leadership Award.

Two organizations were named Most Improved Organization of the Year, Lambda Pi Eta communication honor society and Sykes Union Advisory Board. Sykes Union Advisory Board’s advisor, Dave Timmann, who also advises Colleges Against Cancer was the recipient of the Organization Advisor of the Year Award.

Lastly, recognized for overcoming their budget problems from last year and for putting together a successful year of programming, the Residence Hall Association was name Organization of the Year.

Anna Moronski is a third-year student majoring in Communications and minoring in Journalism. She can be reached at

Author profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *